# 2007–2008 ORIENTAL INSTITUTE VISITING COMMITTEE

O. J. Sopranos\*, Chair

Mrs. James W. Alsdorf Guity Nashat Becker Alan R. Brodie Andrea Dudek Dr. Marjorie M. Fisher Joan Fortune Margaret H. Grant\* Mary J. Grimshaw\* Howard G. Haas Thomas C. Heagy\* Arthur L. Herbst\* Neil J. King Jill Carlotta Maher\* John W. McCarter, Jr. Rita T. Picken\* Patrick Regnery Robert G. Schloerb Mary G. Shea Mari Terman Marjorie K. Webster\* Mrs. Muriel Kallis Newman

Kathleen G. Beavis Gretel Braidwood\* Matthew Dickie Emily Huggins Fine Margaret E. Foorman Isak & Nancy Gerson Mary L. Gray Lewis & Misty Gruber Deborah Halpern Janet W. Helman Doris & Marshall Holleb\* Lucia & Daniel Lindley Janina Marks Roger Nelson Crennan M. Ray John W. Rowe Lois M. Schwartz\* Toni Sandor Smith Walter Vandaele Anna M. White

\* denotes Life Member

## **Visiting Committee**

The fall meeting of the Visiting Committee was held on November 15th at the Quadrangle Club. Dr. Norman Golb shared his perspective on the Dead Sea Scrolls with the committee. Cocktails and dinner followed the meeting.

The spring Visiting Committee meeting was held on May 12th at the Standard Club. The faculty presentation was given by Nadine Moeller, the newest addition to the faculty. Nadine discussed her work at the site of Edfu in southern Egypt.

In late summer of 2005, the Executive Committee voted to establish three subcommittees to assist the Director of the Institute in furthering its goals. These subcommittees continue to contribute significantly to the planning and execution of Institute strategies for increasing both our visibility and fundraising capacity.

### **Special Events Committee**

Deborah Halpern, Chair

Gretel Braidwood Andrea Dudek Janet Helman Rita Picken Emily Teeter

Denise Browning Margaret Foorman Kitty Picken Mary Shea Mari Terman

### Nominating and Governance Committee

Tom Heagy, Chair

Patrick Regnery

Robert Schloerb

Mary Shea

### **Development Committee**

Roger Nelson, Chair

Gretel Braidwood Neil King Joan Fortune Carlotta Maher O. J. Sopranos Arthur Herbst Toni Sandor Smith